why marxists annoy me

Coming from a country where Marx and Engels where the household philosophers for about 40 years, I have never been too fond of the two. I still remember my surprise at walking down Karl Marx Allee in Berlin and the rather harsh remark from a German acquaintance that my view of Marx is quite limited and that it’s about time Marx got re-appreciated as a great philosopher. I have Western friends that proudly call themselves Marxists and quote Lenin like he’s their hero. That always makes me wonder about what a German would say if that same person quoted Hitler with such familiarity. They would dismiss the parallel looking at me like I’m a crazy person, but in my opinion they should consider it a bit. And yes, I know Lenin is not Stalin…

At one point I have walked out of a class on Marx somewhere in Germany feeling quite angry. Like my friend argued, Marx was treated like any other philosopher in that class and it is particularly this that struck me as inappropriate. I felt that they should have at least vaguely mentioned the consequences of putting these ideas into practice. Another question that I often ask myself is why is it that so many intellectuals and pseudo-intellectuals still take so much pride in calling themselves Marxists and most of them, incidentally, are part of a university system supported through deeply capitalist means. I myself agree most of the times with Terry Eagleton and appreciate that part of Marxist philosophy that influenced Michel Foucault’s ideas about power, but I appreciate even more that it completely departs from its teleology.

Reading Bertrand Russell’s essay Why I’m Not a Communist started this whole train of thought. I was surprised to bump into this clear-headed rebuttal of Communism published in 1956 when so many Western intellectuals were completely enamored with it. Russell himself fell slightly under its spell, but a visit into the heart of the new Soviet Republic cured him. Here’s what he says:

“In relation to any political doctrine there are two questions to be asked: (1) Are its theoretical tenets true? (2) Is its practical policy likely to increase human happiness? For my part, I think the theoretical tenets of Communism are false, and I think its practical maxims are such as to produce an immeasurable increase of human misery. ”

More here

One Comment

  1. Got to agree with you. I grew up in a country (South Africa) where Marxism automatically meant you were against apartheid, which meant you were against racism, which meant you were OK.
    I’ve always felt that Marxism’s claim to monopolise altruism was hollow. Marxism all too often leads to the usual leftist view that everyone else is wrong and they are right.
    Personally I’m very much a liberal democrat politically. I believe freedom is the ultimate altruism and Marxism (in practice) is incongruent with that.
    As for the claim that Marxism has never been put into practice in harmony with it’s true tenets, I say that it’s impossible to do so.
    Yes I’ve read a lot of Marx’s guff.
    It’s a lovely idea… but it’s an idea.
    We’re talking about human beings here. A poor, oppressed working human, wants to be rich and comfortable just as much as a rich and comfortable one.
    I promise you poor people, (and I’m one of you), Marxism ain’t gonna do that.
    Living in a system where you can get of your arse and make it happen for yourself is the best shot you’ve got.
    If you wanna believe otherwise, fine. But you’re deluding yourself.
    There are no free rides in this world.
    Marxism leads to grand theft on a monumental scale… namely the government stealing from the people and giving a crappy system in return.
    I’d rather the government leave me my money to use how I want to use it… and I’ll bear the consequences of that thank you very much.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

